Candidates qualify for political office in Vermilion Parish

On Wednesday, several candidates signed up as qualifying for the Nov. 6 elections.
Qualifying will end Friday afternoon. Those interested in qualifying can do so Today until 4:30 p.m. in Vermilion Parish Clerk of Court Diane Meaux Broussard’s office. That office is located on the first floor of the Vermilion Parish Courthouse in downtown Abbeville.
Elections will include each of the eight district seats on the Vermilion Parish School Board.
There will be municipal races for Mayor, Chief of Police and Council members in the Town of Erath, the Town of Gueydan and the Village of Maurice.
There will be an election for Justice of the Peace for Ward 1 (Erath area).
Vermilion Parish voters will see a statewide race for Secretary of State and a race for U.S. Representative for the 3rd District as well as a multi-parish election for judge on the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeals.

The following candidates have filled out paper work to qualify as of Wednesday:

Town of Erath

• John Earl LeBlanc
• Taylor Mencacci

Chief of Police
• Bart Bouillion
• Anna LaPointe

• Scott Antoine Bernard
• Jason Connor
• Robert “T-Bob” Domingues
• Earl “Boo” Landry
• Michael “Mike” Richard
• Robert B. Vincent

Town of Gueydan

• Jude Reese
• Chris Theriot

Chief of Police
• Virgie C. LeMaire
• Tony Stelly
• Shawn Theriot
• Lori Touchet

• Kevin “Turtle” Cormier
• Anita Freeland Dupuis
• John Ryan Laseter
• Chad J. LeMaire
• “Zim” Livingston
• Claudette Simon Price
• Gale Smith
• Jason Suire
• Scott D. Vallo

Village of Maurice

• Wayne Theriot

Chief of Police
• Neil Arsement
• Kelly Broussard Hardy
• Guy Nerren

• Sherry Sherman Howell
• Phyllis Catalon Johnson
• Warren Rost
• Jonathan Schlicher

Justice of the Peace Ward 1
•”Chris” Langlinais
• Brian Richard
• Carl Toups

Vermilion Parish
School Board

District A
• David Dupuis

District B
• Chris Gautreaux

District C
• Laura LeBeouf

District D
• John Breaux
• Stacy Landry
• Dale Stelly

District E
• Jean Broussard
• Charlotte C. Detraz

District F
• Kibbie P. Pillette Sr.

District G
• Sara Bourgeois Duplechain
• Jason Roy

District H
• Christopher Hebert
• Kristy Kloesel Hebert

Judge, Court of Appeal
3rd Circuit, 3rd District
• Jonathan Perry

U. S. Representative 3rd
Congressional District
• “Rob” Anderson
• Aaron J. Andrus
• “Josh” Guillory
• Clay Higgins
• Mildred “Mimi” Methvin
• Larry Rader
• Verone Thomas

Secretary of State
• Kyle Ardoin
• Heather Cloud
• “Gwen” Collins-Greenup
• A.G. Crowe
• “Rick” Edmonds
• Renee Fontenot Free
• Thomas J. Kennedy III
• Matthew Paul “Matt” Moreau
• Julie Stokes

Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542