Abbeville Police investigating after female victim shot during drive-by shooting

On May 4, 2019 at approximately 11:13 p.m. officers of the Abbeville Police Department responded to a “shots fired” call near the intersection of Martin Luther King Jr. Drive and South Bailey Street.
The original caller stated that she heard several shots coming from she believed was a vehicle.
Upon officers arriving in the area, they were advised that a female subject had been shot and was being transported to the Abbeville General Hospital emergency room. The detective division was called out to investigate.

Carina Chargois

Kaplan’s Chargois elected LA FCCLA State President, National Officer candidate

As students return from the Louisiana Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) 2019 State Leadership Conference, one Vermilion Parish student is coming back to Kaplan High School with a new role to fill for the next year.
Carina Chargois, daughter of CJ and Tina Chargois, a sophomore at Kaplan High School, was elected to serve as Louisiana FCCLA 2019-2020 State President.

Garland Thompson will sing his own songs.

Jason Harrington will perform some of the songs he wrote.

Michael Juan Nunez will perform the songs he wrote.

Gueydan’s Wade Richard (left) has been playing music for the last 50 years.

Vermilion Songwriters Night to be held Saturday at Richard Sale Barn

A night of songs and the inspiration for those melodies are on the slate for the Vermilion Songwriters Night on Saturday at the Richard Sale Barn located south of Abbeville.
The first-ever “Vermilion Songwriters Night” will showcase the talents of Wade Richard (Gueydan), Garland Thompson (Abbeville), Jason Harrington (Abbeville) and Michael Juan Nunez (Erath).

Knowledge Cafe will have answers about charter school

Do you have questions for the people who are trying to start a new charter school in Abbeville?
You can get your answers at a “Knowledge Cafe” that will be held tonight and Saturday morning at the City Public Meeting Room. The meeting room is located in the building in front of the Sunbelt Lodge Motel on the La. 14 Bypass in Abbeville, which is also located across the street from New China.
The Knowledge Cafe tonight is from 6-8. Another one will be held on Saturday from 9 a.m. until noon.

Ben Rivera Reappointed as Chamber Rep on Economic Development Board

Vermilion Parish is ripe for investment and the board of Vermilion Economic Development Alliance is excited about the work they’re doing in all areas of the parish.
To help provide vision and direction for the staff and programming is the organization’s 15-member board representing Vermilion Parish cities, towns, and government organizations as well as the Chamber of Commerce.


Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542