Christiana Baptiste, 4, unwraps a Christmas present during the party on Friday.

Photo on the right is Lindsay Mencacci Schexnider, who helped organize the party, picking up presents that were not opened at the party.

Mandy Hebert walks through the groups of presents before they were going to be handed out.

Vermilion Parish helps foster children

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) hosted their first Christmas Party Project for children and families in the program on Friday; a project that took two months to organize with hopes to grow.
Stacey Mire, supervisor for the Department of Children and Family Services, wanted to do more in her career in helping foster children and families. After realizing that Lafayette had several community and church support, she wanted to do the same for Vermilion Parish.

Michael “BJ” OBryan Jr.

Update: Suspect arrested in Abbeville

According to Vermilion Parish Sheriff Mike Couvillon a person wanted by the Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office in regards to a vehicle pursuit which ended in Vermilion Parish yesterday has been arrested.
Sheriff Couvillon said that Michael OBryan Jr. was arrested without incident at an apartment complex in Abbeville at approximately 11:15 a.m. this morning by members of the Vermilion Parish Narcotics Task Force and Detectives.
OBryan will be later transported and booked into the Lafayette Parish Correctional Center on charges stemming from yesterday’s incident.

Abbeville Police rewarding good drivers

It pays to be a good driver and beginning this weekend the Abbeville Police Department will be rewarding good drivers with gift cards.
An anonymous donor purchased 50 gift cards that have a balance of $20 each and presented them to the APD. Chief Bill Spearman said he is grateful for that donation and says that the donor wanted to do something nice for people this holiday season.


Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542